Press Release | << back

February 20, 2015

Great Performers: Takács Quartet, February 26

Great Performers

Thursday, February 26 at 7:30 pm

Great Performers

Takács Quartet

Lawrence Power, viola

Pre-concert lecture by Christopher H. Gibbs at 6:15 in the Stanley H. Kaplan Penthouse

Schubert: Quartettsatz in C minor, D.703

Mozart: String Quintet in G minor, K.516

Beethoven: String Quartet in F major, Op. 59 (“Razumovsky”)

The Takács Quartet—the only string quartet to be inducted into Gramophone’s Hall of Fame alongside such legendary artists as Jascha Heifetz and Leonard Bernstein—is recognized as one of the world’s great ensembles. It gives the first of two Great Performers concerts in 2015 with English violist Lawrence Power, a critically-acclaimed musician who turned down the offer of first chair at the Berlin Philharmonic to pursue his mission of reviving interest in the viola as a solo instrument.

Alice Tully Hall (Broadway at 65th St.)

Tickets, starting at $45, are available online at, by calling CenterCharge at 212.721.6500, or at the Avery Fisher and Alice Tully Hall box offices, Broadway and 65th Street.

Powered by Press